top of page

Celebrating Excellence: 12 African Chess Lounge Students at the 2024 African Youth Championship

As an academy, we often don’t highlight our achievements, but we would like to share the progress our students have made.

Two months ago, at the South African Junior Chess Championship Closed, the following students qualified for the African Youth Championship:

• Matthew Shapiro (SACS)

• Chase Salimu (Curro Durbanville)

• Mila Snyman (Curro Durbanville)

• Amy Liu (Somerset College)

• Janko Weideman (Curro Durbanville)

• Callan Manning (Curro Durbanville)

Additionally, we have selected these students for the 2024 African Youth Championship:

• Gabriel Jacobson (Rondebosch Boys)

• Ethan Oosthuizen (Paarl Boys)

• Hannah Van Heerden (Paarl Girls)

• Thlogi Dikolomela (Growth Point Academy)

• Ethan Mazikana (Stirling Primary School)

• Madison Lambrechts (Courtrai Primary)

This brings the total to 12 students from African Chess Lounge Chess Academy who will be participating. We wish these young talents success in their journeys.

116 views0 comments


bottom of page